Skip to content

Bird

December 17, 2010

We spent the day mountain biking some of Skidaway’s great trails, which pass through miles of moss-draped, twisted, oak trees. A highlight was watching what I think was a Great Blue Heron fish in the shallow water marsh in the outskirts the park.

But don’t take my word that this picture is really of a Great Blue Heron. I know nearly as much about birds as I do about breathing underwater, which is to say that if my survival depends on my knowledge of either, I’m kind of screwed. So while this could be a Great Blue Heron, it could also be a peacock for all I know.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Neil Laubenthal permalink
    December 17, 2010 3:18 pm

    Yep, Great Blue Heron. The only similarly sized and colored wading bird is the Louisiana or Tri-Color Heron . . .they’re almost the same except the Louisiana has a darker neck and a white belly

Leave a Reply

